Lost touch

no-connection-512
No © claim

Damn you signal bars! Come on! I am on my terrace now. There is barely any cloud cover. What more do you want? I wonder if there is a defibrillator for mobile phones. Oh, wait. I can switch it off and on again. Thank you The IT Crowd. Okay…hmm… waiting…waiting…Enter Passcode. Yes! I have one voice message. It’s from her. Why? Why is she calling me NOW? We have been broken up of months. How long has it been? It was before the start of the English Premier League for certain. I had already moved out. Was it during the FIFA World Cup? Groooaann. Let’s get it over with. Maybe she finally realized what she is missing. I could then call her back and maybe pick up my DVDs. Alright, voice mail code… static, static, static…“I’m sorry. I should’ve told you months ago. Bye.”

What the hell! What had she not told me? What is she sorry for? I couldn’t deal with her then and I will not deal with her now. She threw it all away, she wrecked it, she… she said she was SORRY. That has never happened. This is serious. I should call her back. But, what if she wants to get back? I am not ready for that talk. I am not ready for any talk. Women! Okay, focus. Call, say hi, be polite, ask her the matter, ask her about the DVDs and say bye. No to meeting for a drink, no to reminiscing, no to listening to her cry. No, no, no, no. Okay, network’s still down. Skype! Calling… ringing… 1, 2, 3, 4… sh*t, she’s not answering.

Oh, hello.

“Hi, This is Julie, Sarah’s mom. She’s busy at the moment. Would you like to leave a message?”

Hi Julie (sh*t, sh*t, sh*t). This is Matt. How are you?…Yeah, good, you know…Yeah… Calling from Skype, so… Yeah, so Sarah called me earlier and left a message but all I could get was the last couple of sentences… Ha ha, yeah! Bad reception. Anyway, it sounded serious (CRAP!)…

“No, there’s nothing serious to report really. She’s having her routine ultrasound done today. Everything is fine.”

Routine ultrasound? Why would she… no… no… When?…How? I mean…I didn’t know anything. She didn’t tell me ANYTHING…JUNE? JUNE?… Yes. Please ask her to call me back. Thank you.

I’m ready to talk Sarah. Please call me. Please. Damn you signal bars! Switching off and on again, and again.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/bad-signal/

3 thoughts on “Lost touch”

Go for it! I know you want to.

