Ramble on! Sing that song!

Lightning crashes…
Riders on the storm
Somewhere over the rainbow
Skies are blue
The angel opens her eyes
See the sun set in your eyes
See the thorn twist in your side
And I wince for you
You ain’t nothin’ but a hound dog
Cryin’ all the time

Come as you are as you were as you wanted to be
As a friend, as a trend, as a known memory
She’s got a smile that seems to me
Reminds me of childhood memories
Sleight of hand and twist of fate
On a bed of nails she makes me wait
Fortune, fame; mirror vain; gone insane
But the memory remains

Hello! Is there anybody in there?
Just shout if you can hear me.
Is there anyone at home?
Did I do it right?
Tried my best
Gave you every thing I had
Every thing and no less
Society, crazy indeed
I hope you are not lonely
Without me

A-Songwriters-Brain (C) http://mysonginthenight.com/2011/11/20/a-songwriters-brain/

This is a late entry to Ready, Set, Done! (Daily prompt on Nov 13)

Spotify has been running for hours and I have nothing except song lyrics in my head right now. So, I wrote them down as they came; misheard and misremembered. I then rearranged them to give some sort of order (?) and meaning (??). This was a lot of fun. I encourage you to try it. Cheers to all the amazing songwriters of past and present out there – they were my first voice before I found my own.

14 thoughts on “Ramble on! Sing that song!”

  1. Well done; thanks for letting me know about this prior post. (I wasn’t aware of it, or its daily prompt from last year, when I more recently did something similar for my #writing201 elegy.)
    The few lines I can’t identify here are “Fortune, fame; mirror vain; gone insane” and the concluding six or seven lines. Can you say which songs they’re from? Not knowing details like this has been known to cost me sleep 🙂

    “We all know hits and rock songs by heart precisely because there is no reason to memorize them anymore.” – Friedrich Kittler, Gramophone Film Typewriter (80)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. “Fortune, fame; mirror vain; gone insane” – Memory Remains by Metallica
      “Did I do it right?
      Tried my best
      Gave you every thing I had
      Every thing and no less” – Take it All by Adele
      “Society, crazy indeed
      I hope you are not lonely
      Without me” – Society by Eddie Vedder

      Thank you for reading and commenting. I appreciate it and the brilliant quote! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, shucks! Thanks Shailaja. 🙂 Much appreciated. I have never written a song myself. Well, not totally true. I wrote one as a 6-7 yr old and it went something like “Mr. Fox and Mr. Hare are running everywhere…” and had a na-nana-na-nana tune. I haven’t tried one since.

      Liked by 1 person

Go for it! I know you want to.

