Fashion Advice

Black to hide the tears
that drip off your chin,
or white
to heal the senses?

You either wear anger
disguised as anguish,
or helplessness stitched up
as disappointment.

You wear a patchwork
of your life,
or a crochet
of your dreams.

You model the look
of being in control.
That what’s about to unfold
is part of a grand design.

You choose the palette,
the fabric, the pattern.
But the norm
dictates your style.

What do you wear,
to an abortion?
Anything really,
but a smile.

(..)

10 thoughts on “Fashion Advice”

  1. Sam, a wonderful poem whose twist ending totally works. Subtle with lovely imagery and a sincere impact. I couldn’t imagine what anyone would write as an answer to this prompt, but you did a stellar job. I am writing to all of the prompts, just still can’t establish a pingback to and WordPress prompts. They’ve gone on Thanksgiving Vac. and forgotten us. Judy

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oops..I meant to any WordPress prompts. And actually I didn’t write to today’s as I couldn’t think of a thing to write about it but your topic reminded me of one so perhaps I’ll try again tonight. Judy

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Thank you so much Judy. I learnt from your recent posts that you haven’t been able to pingback to the prompt. It’s such a loss for the community (at least the part that doesn’t have you on its Reader) since your posts are amazing. I read ‘New World Miracle’ and wanted to ask you for the rest of the story when I saw you had published ‘Romance Underground’. I am halfway through it and loving it thoroughly. It’s been bookmarked!

      Like

    1. Aw, thanks love. I missed you too! It was a fun break but I did think about writing about everything I was experiencing to have you read about it. I didn’t have much chance to get online though. 😦 I am not well at the moment (bad throat infection) but I read all of your new stuff and loved them all! Hope to write more tomorrow.

      Like

Go for it! I know you want to.

