Crossthought

I don’t understand why you behave this way
After all I have done for you this is how you repay
My years for worrying and giving you sustenance
My years of fear for you, how you have tested my patience
I don’t understand how you can just walk out
How you think you have the right to it. You lout!
I wonder if you’ve ever considered my version of the story
I wait for the day you have a son for Worry.

I don’t understand why you behave this way
After all I have given birth to him and allow me, if I may,
To correct you for a minute on your chosen tactic
Of choosing terror and anger instead of didactics
I don’t understand how you can just walk out
Don’t you realise that this is just another bout
If you would only turn around and see
A mother’s tears that I cry silently

I don’t understand why you behave this way
I have told you time and again, much to your dismay,
To be calm with him and love him unconditionally
He’s my brother second but your son firstly
I don’t understand how you can just walk out
On their sacrifice and love I assure you there is, no doubt
I know your life’s been difficult but as a token
For a sister’s affection, please, don’t let us be broken

I don’t understand why you behave this way
I have cried so many nights that have never seen a day
I don’t know how to process everything I’ve experienced
I am angry now and I am done being subservient
I need to walk out, walk away, be on my own
I love you all but I can no longer condone
Your form of love or hate. I really can’t tell.
Call me, I’ll speak to you. Your son, your brother, your rebel.

10 thoughts on “Crossthought”

  1. I’m sure this resonates with many people. I love the repetition of the firs t line: I don’t know why you behave this way…and this line…please, don’t let us be broken. This is lovely in its range of emotions.

    Liked by 1 person

Go for it! I know you want to.

