Sunset in France

Solar by Philip Larkin teaches

Sunset in France
Sunset over the marshes of Camargue, Southern France. (c) Sam Rappaz, 2012

Solar

Suspended lion face
Spilling at the centre
Of an unfurnished sky
How still you stand,
And how unaided
Single stalkless flower
You pour unrecompensed

The eye sees you
Simplified by distance
Into an origin,
Your petalled head of flames
Continuously exploding.
Heat is the echo of your
Gold.

Coined there among
Lonely horizontals
You exist openly.
Our needs hourly
Climb and return like angels.
Unclosing like a hand,
You give for ever.

(November 4, 1964; 1974)

Β – Philip Larkin (1922-1985)

Larkin’s mastery of metaphors leaves me breathless. Each image is unexpected and unforced. I read, I try, I learn and with each passing day the talent for expressing the ordinary in extraordinary terms is developed. It’s tough, frustrating and words can seem immalleable but the rewards outweigh the effort multifold. Anyone who has ever wanted to write in any genre and write well must read poetry – a lesson I am learning too late for my liking but ever so eagerly.

6 thoughts on “Solar by Philip Larkin teaches”

    1. Aw, πŸ™‚ Thanks love. This post is a cheat – not my poem unfortunately. But the photo and the ‘afterthought’ is mine but they’re not close to how wonderful Larkin’s poem is. Your comment made my day Nelkumi πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  1. This is simply fantastic, I think it went with the photo as well what a wonderful description. I just did a prompt on describing a picture, I hope it was as good as this here. Thanks for sharing. I haven’t read any Philip Larkin. I will have to look for his work.

    Liked by 1 person

Go for it! I know you want to.

