O Black Widow!

Black and glossy dollop of sin
Frozen explosion of sticky tar
Red ominous assassin marking:
Hourglass –
Timing every kill on your venter.

You lie still waiting suspended
Within your tangled web of deceit
Sensing movements unintended
Waving –
A deadly acrobat on eight feet.

Stronger than steel your silken fibre
Your resolve persists stronger still
Leathered dominatrix whipping desire
Oh my!
How I’ve loved you and forever will!

Martyred my life as a sexual devour
Just for one octapodian embrace
An instinct drew me to you for Ours
Was I –
A target, a meal, a dupe, a disgrace?

Despite the neglect you showed me
I am in my eyes a hero
In the Order of Araneae
Only –
With a not-so-grieving widow.

16 thoughts on “O Black Widow!”

  1. Beautiful poem, beautiful photo. I love black widows. Though they seem so deadly, they really are quite shy. So many wonderful images in your words. Each phrase, thought provoking. Thanks!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much. It means a lot getting such compliments from a nature enthusiast – this was my first attempt at a poem on an animal. I had to read up a bit about black widows before I could write it and also stare at some pictures. Best upside: A lot of my prejudice about these spiders has been erased!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh wow Derrick! It really did. I am trying my hand at metrical poetry for the very first time. Hard work! I feel redeemed, now that you noticed. PS: Love the pun! Also any criticism is welcome. I am eager to learn.

      Liked by 2 people

Go for it! I know you want to.

