My Favourite Things, Verse 3

Girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes,
Snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes,
Silver white winters that melt into springs,
These are a few of my favourite things.

 

We make our way through the third verse of My Favourite Things from the movie The Sound of Music. This post is my entry to Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge where she’s doing a series on Subjects from Songs. You can find my entries to the previous verses in the songs by clicking on the respective hyperlinked texts: verse 1; verse 2. As usual I’ll be interpreting the verses in my own way.

Girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes

Not really white dresses with blue sashes but don’t these ceramic columns look just as beautiful?

Blue on white ceramic fences of Plaza de Espana, Seville.
Plaza de Espana, Seville.

 

Snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes

Fresh snow flakes on a blue car bonnet. They reminded me of clouds in the sky. They make me dream.

Snowflakes on a blue car bonnet
Snowflakes on a blue car bonnet

 

Silver white winters that melt into springs

Who is weeping I wonder: The earth, for it is disrobing its soft silken gown of innocence to flower or the snow, for it is met with a warmth that it will never appreciate?

Switzerland

 

 

And now we continue on our The Sound of Music Tour,

A view of the beautiful Wolfgangsee and the surrounding hills (unfortunately hidden by rain clouds) which are featured aerially in the opening credits of the movie.

Wolfgangsee, Austria
Wolfgangsee, Austria

 

The famous path down which we see Maria (Julie Andrews) dancing, running, skipping, twirling her guitar singing herself into bravery! I like to sing this song before any public speaking appointment or interview.

I have confidence in confidence ALONE
I have confidence in confidence ALONE

 

The front of the Von Trapp family home that Maria sees when she finally meets that massive iron gate. The villa is now a private residence and tourists are no longer permitted even on the path leading to it (the image above). There is constant security around here and our bus driver just slowed down just enough for us to grab some blurry shots of the house. I am certain the current residents are extremely annoyed with Hollywood.

Salzburg, Austria
The Von Trapp family home front

 

So long, Farewell, Auf Wiedersehen, Adieu…

Until the next verse, which will bring us to our grand finale.

17 thoughts on “My Favourite Things, Verse 3”

Go for it! I know you want to.

