It is OUR loss

Voiceless art
speaks volumes about
a culture
of courage.
When made silent the message
screams ferocious fear.

 
This is a shadorma which I wrote after reading the following quote,

In this latest video, an unidentified man says Islam calls for the destruction of all idols. The museum worker was dismissive of this piety, saying the militants “don’t care about the statues” but rather are trying to “send a message to all the world.”

Source: NPR Blogs (Remembering The Relics And Rich History Of Mosul, Before ISIS)
 
In addition to the article linked above I also recommend the powerfully resilient poem “dimensions” by John Flanagan.
 
Here’s how Iraq has responded,

16 thoughts on “It is OUR loss”

  1. First, I absolutely love love love the poem, especially after reading what inspired it. It is a powerful poem. I agree with Derrick. It is profound.

    Second, I was unfamiliar with shadorma, so thank you for teaching me a new poetry form. I have written quite a few six line poems, but not in any form that I am familiar with.

    Third, thanks for introducing me to a poet and blog I haven’t read before 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Robin for your heartfelt comment.
      I just learnt of the form myself and always happy to share.
      Also, John’s talent is remarkable. It compelled me to share. I hope you enjoy his blog as much as I do. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Go for it! I know you want to.

