When I see my portrait

Laura Zimmermann is a talented Parisian artist who I know because of good fortune: One of my husband’s best friend had the good sense to date her or we would have never known this outwardly shy but inwardly bold and resolute young woman. She also has the distinction of being the only vegetarian French person I know. She’s more than an acquaintance. She attended my wedding in India in 2013. But sadly, due to logistics and lifestyles we have been just Facebook friends in reality. But all that changed quite suddenly.

I realised that she had painted me from a photograph that she took at the wedding in India. I happened by it as I was scrolling aimlessly though my Facebook feed. It took me by surprise. This event by itself has mitigated most of my general disdain for sharing in social media. I told my husband about the painting and we decided to contact Laura through her man and ask if we could purchase it.

We have had two weddings, Mr. Pink and I; one in India and one in Switzerland. The wedding in India was with a heavy purpose but no legally binding (hence we had the Swiss wedding). It was a religious ceremony and I wanted it done so as to introduce him to my culture and people in the most hectic, time-consuming and fun way possible. What else is India if not hectic, time-consuming and fun? Though we have thousands of beautiful photographs from both weddings we don’t have even one picture of us blown up and framed. In fact I have printed out just one photo on a normal A4 hi-bond paper in postcard format to put in a frame that could accommodate a picture much larger. Contrary to Beyoncé and Jay-Z we are lazy in love.

Now that the opportunity to put up a memory worth adorning our naked walls presented itself – in acrylic on canvas, no less – we couldn’t just let it pass. I found it rather poignant that it also happened to be the first original painting we decided to invest in. Not to mention it made us feel extra good to show support for an independent budding artist.

They came by one Sunday afternoon for an Indian lunch and to give us our painting. From when Laura unveiled the canvas from its bubble wrap cocoon to now, this very instant, I haven’t been able to get away with just a momentary glance  at it. It draws me in, and each time at first I look at it as though it wasn’t me in it. This wasn’t a moment from my life. There’s something calm and content about that woman. Something angelic and reassuring. That’s not how I remember feeling at the time. All I seem to remember is the stress and the need to satisfy everyone else’s needs; to make sure none of the Europeans fell sick from the Indian food and that none of the Indians felt abandoned because of all the Europeans at the wedding. That’s what I remembered…at first.

Memory is a tricky thing, isn’t it? It’s interesting how I forget that actually during the three days that the wedding celebrations lasted, on the inside, I was content and happy. I was satisfied with my life decision; happy about the fact that I was allowed to marry my love despite him being of another race/religion/nationality; reassured by the presence of hundreds of well-wishers; calmed by the knowledge that I didn’t have to hide my relationship status anymore from anyone; and finally, I felt united with the universe. All the elements that we were exchanging with our immediate surroundings, all of which came from the inception of the universe – cycled through planets, asteroids, plants, animals, people, dead relatives – were with me that day as I vowed to be married to my man not because a legal authority demanded it but because I needed my people to know, acknowledge and respect him as my chosen one. Everything was with me and within me as I made that decision known, and I was radiating with everything.

I look at the painting again.

Memory is a tricky thing indeed.

Yes, the woman she has painted – THAT woman – is me.

Thank you Laura for helping me remember.

Painting by Laura Zimmermann
Painting by Laura Zimmermann. Photo of the painting (c) Sam Rappaz

Also, Laura is a wonderful photographer. I have used some of her images in a post that has won a blog contest. Read it here. Please visit Laura’s website to see more of her brilliant work inspired by the people in her life and those she has met in her travels around the world. Link: http://laura-zimmermann.com

33 thoughts on “When I see my portrait

Add yours

      1. and then i become the monster and the abyss? what fun! 🙂 i always wanted to creep out neitzsche by just staring at him for the longest time. when he asks “what”, i’ll giggle and drop his line.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Sam, thank you so much for this post!
    It’s really nice for me to know your feelings and to see that my work can arouse emotions and thoughts to people. I’m really glad and honored that you like it!
    Can I share your post on my blog?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Laura! So happy that you stopped by. I hope you are enjoying all the lovely comments by my readers here. They’re all in praise of your work and talent 🙂
      Yes – I would be honoured to have you share this post on your blog! Please go ahead.

      Like

  2. Very beautiful painting, what talent! And love what you write about how memories are tricky and how you ended it. Lovely! What a nice reminder to look at whenever you feel stressed, remember the sereness of that girl in the painting 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love this painting! Such bold lines and colors – how wonderful that it’s also of you, and of such a powerful moment in your life. I will certainly check out her website as well. Thank you for sharing this!

    Liked by 1 person

Go for it! I know you want to.

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑