My Favourite Things, Chorus (to end the series)

When the dog bites,
When the bee stings,
When I’m feeling sad,
I simply remember my favourite things,
And then I don’t feel so bad.

 

Here’s the final entry for the chorus of My Favourite Things (from The Sound of Music) to conclude the wonderful series of Subjects from Songs, for Cee’s weekly Fun Foto Challenge.

 

When the dog bites

Dog bites can hurt. I was bitten by a stray dog when I was a child growing up in India. I was on a morning walk with my father and he stopped to chat with a neighbour. I kept walking. I turned around to see my dad talking to his friend, not too far away and then I spotted this scrawny black little dog who’d been following me. I love dogs and I always have so I stopped and faced him. I was a little nervous, to be sure and I gingerly stretched out my left arm to pet him. He got spooked and bit into my arm. I screamed and my dad came running. I vaguely remember what happened next: My dad rushed me home and washed my arm, and then rushed me to the doctor’s for rabies shots. I am now a proud owner of a canine’s canine marks on my arm. A poor man’s battle scars. However I’ve never stopped loving dogs.

I share with you a picture of a beautiful Bernese Mountain Dog (Berner Sennenhund), a class of breeds related to the famous St. Bernard of the Swiss and Italian Alps. Senne is German for alpine pastures and Hund means dog. The Sennenhund class contains four working dog breeds. The breed in picture here is named after its canton of origin, Bern. This beauty was extremely friendly and full of love. She enjoyed the attention and loved being cuddled. There are very few things in my life that I would rate higher on the happiness scale than a good cuddle from a big fluffy dog.

Bernese Mountain Dog
Bernese Mountain Dog

 

When the bee stings

I have never been stung by a bee. I hope that it never happens. Their’s is the kind of beauty that I enjoy from a distance.

Passion Flower with Bee
Passion Flower with Bee

 

When I’m feeling sad

I can’t wait for spring!
Fog
 

I simply remember my favourite things

Here are the links to my previous posts for My Favourite Things series

Verse 1: Raindrops on Roses & whiskers on kittens…

Verse 2: Cream coloured ponies and crisp apple strudels… (which was selected by Cee to be ‘Featured’)

Verse 3: Girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes…

 

And then I don’t feel so bad…

…to present the grand finale to The Sound of Music Tour.

What better way to end the tour than by visiting the church where Maria and Captain Von Trapp got married!

The church in the village of Mondsee in the outskirts of Salzburg where Maria and Captain Von Trapp were married in the movie.

Church in Mondsee
A peak inside the church. You should be able to recognise the altar from the movie.

Altar at Mondsee church

A closer view…
Altar in Mondsee Church

We see Maria’s long beautiful train from above as “How do you solve a problem like Maria” plays in the background. This was probably shot from where the organ of the church is located.
Organ in Mondsee Church

 

We know what happens next in the tensed climax of the movie. I will not ruin it for those who haven’t yet watched this wonderful and uplifting piece of cinema. I will instead conclude this series of posts by thanking the wonderful people at Panorama Tours in Salzburg, Austria for running an excellent Sound of Music Tour. I heartily recommend it!

Panorama Tour Salzburg
The Sound of Music Tour bus, Panorama Tours, Salzburg Austria

Thank you for coming along with me as I made my way through one of my favourite songs! I hope you enjoyed the ride.

14 thoughts on “My Favourite Things, Chorus (to end the series)

Add yours

  1. This is such a wonderful and fun post! Rabies shots? YIKES and OUCH! So sorry about that. All of the photos are beautiful!!! A Bernese Mountain Dog is one of my favorite dogs. It is the dog I wanted to get; however, my husband said “no tail” and that’s how I ended up with Old English Sheepdogs. How wonderful that you got to visit the church from the Sound of Music movie. It is magnificent.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Have definitely enjoyed your posts on my Favorite musical!! Going on this tour is for sure on my Bucket List!!! Lucky you to have never been stung! Beautiful dog!! Sorry about your bite, but glad it didn’t stop you from loving dogs!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. sound of music is one of my all time favourite movies… I have enjoyed and relived every scene so many times, especially the dance between the Captain and Maria as well as the garden scene…. thanks for bringing back those beautiful memories and sharing the real places through your blog… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Go for it! I know you want to.

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑